Forge Ahead

Sitting down taking stock about last year and what I want this year, all of sudden I felt this tug in my heart and like a whisper a voice said “why not forge ahead this year?” Ruminating on it, I said to myself, Last year I achieved things I did not dream of, I became a bit popular than I used to, I got portfolios if I was told I would get at the beginning of the year I would disbelief and even mock you for saying so. A lot of personal achievements last year not necessarily without flaws, lost some friends, privileges because of my attitude, made silly mistakes and sometimes I found myself making some plans to move yet not necessarily taking action but yet I will say I have gone far, saying that to silence my conscience.

 Then the voice came again “have you forgotten it is not how far but how well? Have you really forged ahead? Have you made valuable contribution to your development and not just your growth? Young man you need to FORGE AHEAD in all areas of your life.”

Forging ahead requires preparation and the most important of them that leads to successful development in one’s journey of life is breaking up one’s fallow ground. Even the bible in Hosea 10:12 recognize this as key.

To forge ahead, grounds need to be broken. Grounds you have left uncultivated for a long time and by reason of time have covered up your God given gifts, talents and skills. Ground where grasses have grown by reason of carelessness and talkativeness. Ground you’ve lost friends in because of hasty assumption and one sided judgment. Ground that have become breeding place for the devil and cohorts because of unbelief and negativity. Ground that the word of God can no longer penetrate. Ground where you complain instead of been thankful. Ground where you struggled all year long because you fail to let Grace in. Ground filled with depression, memories of bitterness, hate and mistakes of the past.

Nobody will break your fallow ground for you, you have to do it yourself and you have to do it NOW because every day you spend leaving fallow ground there, you get to discover at the end of the year that you’ve gone FAR but not WELL and you’ve GROWN but not DEVELOPED.

This is an Idea worth taking note of if you really want to forge ahead this year.

“Take 12 fine full-grown months, see that they are free from old memories of bitterness, hate, cleanse them completely from every clinging spite and pick off all specks of pettiness and littleness. In short, make sure these months are free from all the past, have them fresh and clean as when they first came from the great store-house of time.

Cut the months into 30 or 31 equal parts of Faith, Patience, Courage, Work (if you omit this, you spoil the flavor of the rest), Hope, Fidelity, Liberality, Kindness, Rest, Prayer, Meditation and Resolution. Put in about one (1) teaspoonful of good spirits, a dash of fun, a sprinkling of play and a heaping cupful of good humor.”-Anonymous

My dear, Get Up from slumber you’ve slept for so long. Break up the fallow ground and forge ahead to greater heights. Wish you a great, graceful and wonderful new year.

 

Leave a Reply

